UKC

Oxbridge Entrance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Offwidth 22 Oct 2017

Its sad that if anything things seem worse than when I was a student in the early 80s. People are oddly surprised that wealthier families take up many of the independant and comprehensive/academy admissions places and arguably kids from poor backgrounds are as under-represented as they have been for deacdes.

I listened with sadness to BBC4 Any Answers where two pleasant dons talked about all the good work they do to encourage poor kids and completely miss the point that their peers dealing with admissions are the ones who really need help if any significant change is to occur (like the Foundation pilot course at Oxford). Public schools have always tutored students in the style of entrance exams and of interviews so any equivalently qualified kid from a poor background and a comp is almost certainly brighter and with more potential.

Why don't they just use gently shifting quotas of some kind.... places are oversubscribed by qualified candidates so I just can't see how it can dent quality? As someone else from Coventry Uni said on Any Answers it seems to work for them.
Post edited at 18:35
 Doug 22 Oct 2017
In reply to Offwidth:

I've read a few articles about Oxbridge entry over the last few days & although there's clearly a problem I wonder how much is the fault of Oxford & Cambridge - if black or other minority groups don't apply, how can they offer them places ?

Although I do get the impression that Oxford has less state educated students now than when I was there in the mid 70s
OP Offwidth 22 Oct 2017
In reply to Doug:
I'm pretty sure that is a factor but more than enough apply already and get rejected so its hardly the best excuse. Its also a problem at quite a few others in the Russell Group.

A link in case anyone missed it:

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2017/oct/19/oxbridge-becoming-less-di...
Post edited at 19:05
 summo 22 Oct 2017