UKC

NEW ARTICLE: Tits Up At Sunday Sport

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Michael Ryan 18 Sep 2006
"Whilst reaching for the third clip I slipped and fell from the limestone, at the same time I bit down hard on the rope."

Something many of us do, often without thinking, can lead to dire consequences.

http://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/page.php?id=207
 tobyfk 18 Sep 2006
In reply to Mick Ryan - UKClimbing.com:

What's the crag in the side photo, Mick? I am guessing Owens River Gorge?
ultra montane 18 Sep 2006

Sorry to hear about your accident.
I've been climbing for around 20 years, and never, NEVER have I even considered putting the rope between my teeth.
 CJD 18 Sep 2006

mmmmmphhhhh <clutching mouth>

this is one of my worst fears. And it's so early in the morning.

ouuuchheeee.
 Mick Ward 18 Sep 2006
In reply to tobyfk:
> (In reply to Mick Ryan - UKClimbing.com)

> I am guessing Owens River Gorge?

Don't think so...

Mick

Derbyshire Ben 18 Sep 2006

Sorry to hear about your accident - get well soon.

I've politely 'told off' a bunch of people for moving whilst holding the rope in their mouths over the last few years - it's really dangerous. It's usually a novice sport climber, gripped and trying to clip a bolt from below and being really stretched out.

Holding it between teeth momentarily whilst stationary to get extra rope out is OK (but still a bit risky) - but if you are doing this a lot, try and think about moving higher or level with the the bolt before clipping so you don't need as much rope out - it's also a lot less strenuous.

tobyfk 18 Sep 2006

Damn. It's one of the gorge routes rather than main area, right?
 KeithW 18 Sep 2006

Well that literally 'set my teeth on edge'.
I'd always assumed that if anyone fell with the rope in their teeth, the first impulse would be to yell and therefore drop the rope. Obviously not!
rich 18 Sep 2006