UKC

What training does a hanboard help with?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ed34 27 Jul 2021

Ok this might sound a stupid question but what training can you do on a hangboard ? I've never used one before!

I used to climb about E2/3.   sport 6c /7a but due to work and kids have pretty much not climbed for the past 8 years. I still don't have a lot of free time but would like something in the house to start training on again as hopefully in the next 12-18 months I will start getting more free time to get out climbing. 

From the small amount of trad I've done outside this summer, footwork is fine, and could lead hvs but was getting pumped a lot quicker than I used to obviously. I'm just wanting something that I can use to get some strength and stamina back, will hanging on a board and doing some pull-ups on it help? The local wall isn't really an option at the moment as the free time I get is not long enough to get down there for a decent session.

Other option is building a free standing wall at home

Thanks

Iamgregp 27 Jul 2021
In reply to ed34:

Sure a hangboard can totally help with strength and stamina as long as you use it right! 

You'll want to do something more structured than some hangs and a few pull ups, but there are lots of apps, and advice online for building both strength and stamina using a hangboard.  Better still, speak to a pro coach and get a personalised training plan.

Apps wise I've got the beastmaker, hangboard guru, Grippy, Crimpd but there are loads out there, epecially if you're on android

Post edited at 16:21
 Cake 27 Jul 2021
In reply to Iamgregp:

The thing you will probably find most beneficial in trad is the 7:3 repeater. Basically, one minute of 7 seconds on, 3 seconds off then rest for about 2 to three minutes. 6 or more sets. You will probably need to use the biggest jugs to start. The main point is you get really pumped!

In reply to ed34: