UKC

Font grades

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 string arms 13 Oct 2019

Hi uk boulderers 

The adoption of font grades has become widely accepted in the uk as we all know, superceeding the V grades inherited from the states some years back. What I find difficult to fathom is the wide range of difficulty / or comparative ease of problems found within the given grade. I'm well travelled within the uk given that I've been climbing for some 40 years or so now, and I'm more than familiar with '"local grading" scenarios and tough venues where you have to fight for your grades. 

With V grades, I've always assumed that V4 was more or less British 6b which is fairly tough. British 6c was really hard back in the day and imo still is. Im sure that I can't climb british 6c, but I've managed f7c . I appreciate that I tend to prefer long endurance traverses, but I've also been seen to do the odd bloc problems too from time to time

I suppose my point is that with font grades perhaps it would help if there was ALWAYS a british tech grade to accompany it. I know some venues adopt this approach, but usually only for the lower grades. If this approach was used for all font grades, then it might help us developers think better about where the font grade actually lies, because I've got no idea these days. I used to grade things as I saw them ( ie. British 6a is quite hard. 6b is pretty damn hard, and 6c is really hard etc...) but then these would invariably get anywhere upto 4 font grades added by people who repeated them. Then I went the other way and probably over graded them trying to address the issue.... now I just approximate!

This is even more acute with the grading of traverses where font grades are difficult to apply due to their length alot of the time.