UKC

Down jackets and warmth

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Denni 17 Feb 2017
Hi folks,
random question about how you think your down jacket performs against the manufacturers write up. IE, were you expecting it to be warmer when you bought it, has it lived up to the hype etc.

I only ask as I have a RAB Microlight Alpine and it states "143g (large) of 750FP Hydrophobic Goose Down provides exceptional levels of warmth"

I don't find it warm at all in fact I've got a couple of older fleeces that are warmer and I've got a MH sub zero jacket at 600 fill that Is much warmer. I bought it because I thought it would be warmer than the 600 at 750 down fill. I realise they are different as one is a big puffy jacket and the other is a microlight jacket.

Neither have been used in anger, just me adjusting to the colder weather here in the States and I'm no down expert so I have no idea if a thicker baffle compared to a thinner baffle is supposed to keep you warmer? Also, am I right in saying as the numbers go up they use less down and it is a different quality down?

Anyway interested to hear your thoughts as everything is micro these days due to packability and weight but it seems the big puffy in the cupboard best suits me over here!

Den
 Timmd 17 Feb 2017
In reply to Denni:
Looking at the thin baffles of the Alpine, I wouldn't expect it to be as warm as a less high tech down jacket with bigger baffles, with them both being stitch through in construction to keep things consistent, and the one with bigger baffles having a lower fill power down in it.

With my marketing speak head on, I'm guessing they mean that for the weight of the jacket it provides exceptional levels of warmth, which might be true if you compare it weight wise to a thick and cosy fleece.