UKC

Packing it all in for climbing - Where would you go?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Fenda 11 Oct 2016
Recently I've been daydreaming of quitting my job. It keeps me grounded to a single location, far from any mountains. The problem is, I'm addicted to being outdoors. I'm sure there are many of you who are in similar situations or are already living this dream. I'd love to hear personal experiences or plans.

I'm a software engineer and so if I can find internet, my laptop alone will allow me to freelance to keep a small income required for expenses. A digital nomad, so to speak. With that in mind, for 2017, I have been considering:

Jan: Scottish Winter
Feb - March: Spain (South) & Greece (Kalymnos)
April - May: Japan (Nagano)
Jun - Sep: Alps (Not been before! Taking a course in Arolla but any tips for where to go/base after that??)
Sep~: Who knows! Tips?
 RyanOsborne 11 Oct 2016
In reply to Fenda:

For september, if you've got the money to get there then I'd say Yosemite.
pasbury 11 Oct 2016
In reply to Fenda:

Lucky bastard!

September onwards has got to be America surely. Start in Tuolumne then work south: the valley, sierra East Side, Red Rocks, Josh, Mt Lemmon, Courtwright etc etc.
 1poundSOCKS 11 Oct 2016
In reply to Fenda:

> Recently I've been daydreaming of quitting my job.

I plan to be free by the end of Feb.

Plan is start in Northern Spain, then move across France to end up the Frankenjura by the end of May.

Then June to August in the UK. So many things I missed this year due to limited leave and weather.

Then Sept to Nov on the east coast US. The Gunks, RRG, NRG and other places (the west coast is better really, but I've been there the last couple of times and fancy a change).

Then who knows, I don't do winter, so somewhere warm.

Probably all the these plans will change!

BTW, I'm a software developer. Any info on freelance work and how to get established would be appreciated?
 CurlyStevo 11 Oct 2016