UKC

Climbing improvement when approaching 40?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
belayatron 16 Aug 2019

Hi,

I've been climbing for almost 20 years mainly indoor with occasional outdoor and am now approaching 40.

For a number of years I've been climbing at least twice a week indoors for about 3 hours each with a mixture of bouldering and sport and no specific training.

I love it, but have plateaued at around v3 (occasional v4) and 6b (occasional 6c) for years.

I've always fancied starting a training regime to see if I could make 7a, although opinion seems to be mixed/debated on whether I should be achieving this anyway purely through the amount of climbing I do and whether I've reached my natural limit.

I was wondering if anyone has any stories of people in my age range who've plateaued and then actually successfully significantly improved through a training regime?

Post edited at 10:07
 deacondeacon 16 Aug 2019
In reply to belayatron:have you done any structured training? One thing for sure is that your very, very unlikely to be anywhere near your natural limit.  

belayatron 16 Aug 2019
In reply to deacondeacon:

Hi thanks for the reply!

No I haven’t but due to the amount I climb already and my age I was wondering if functional training would realistically make a significant difference/if anyone had any stories of people at similar ages with similar long histories of climbing who’ve managed to make big improvements after a plateau?

Post edited at 10:51
 deacondeacon 16 Aug 2019
In reply to belayatron:

I'm the same age as you. 40 in October. About 5 years ago I started training and went from E1/f6b to E5/f7a (with the odd harder route). Also it didn't take long, probably 4-6 months of structured training.

I know don't train, only climb once or twice a week and gone back to E1/f6b (if I'm lucky).