UKC

Heading to Scotland (from Boulder, Colorado, USA) late April

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JRZ 05 Jan 2018
Hi Friends,

I'm heading out for another climbing adventure in Scotland late April and curious if you have some thoughts or if someone wanted to show me some rock! I have 11 years climbing experience (with both trad and sport) and have climbed in about 2 dozen countries (I'm currently in New Zealand for a 3 week climbing trip)... any beta on your favourite climbing spots, please share!!

I will climb anywhere, but I confess that climbing near water can't be beat.
 aln 06 Jan 2018
In reply to JRZ:

Cuillins, Cairngorms, Galloway, Glencoe
OP JRZ 06 Jan 2018
In reply to JRZ:

Galloway sounds familiar... that is a popular name, is it not?
 DaveHK 06 Jan 2018
In reply to JRZ:

> I will climb anywhere, but I confess that climbing near water can't be beat.

You'll certainly get that in one form or another!

Steve Perry 06 Jan 2018
In reply to JRZ

> I will climb anywhere, but I confess that climbing near water can't be beat.

Lots of sea cliffs in Scotland and rock near to the sea. To name but a small few:
Pabbay
Mingulay
Neist (Skye)
Suidhe Biorach (Skye)
Kilt Rock (Skye)
Sheigra
Reiff
Diabaig
Sarclet
Mid Clyth
Latheronwheel
Aberdeenshire sea cliffs
Moray coastline

Rog Wilko 06 Jan 2018
In reply to JRZ:

If you tell us your climbing grade you'll get more specific recommendations.
Well done choosing late April - probably the best time of the year in many respects.
 Trangia 06 Jan 2018
In reply to JRZ:

Plus 1 for the Cuillins
 aln 06 Jan 2018
In reply to JRZ:

Dumfries and Galloway, the S West Corner of Scotland. Quiet and unspoilt, great walking, lovely hills with some mountain crags, plus some quality single pitch roadside crags and some great sea cliffs.
 nufkin 06 Jan 2018
In reply to JRZ:

> Galloway sounds familiar... that is a popular name, is it not?

Possibly cropped up on your radar in this guise: